Australian Super Review

AustralianSuper Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - High Growth 2.26% 8.96% 8.86%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
AustralianSuper - High Growth VS Median 0.06% 1.16% 1.06%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - High Growth 137.8 0.64% $457.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 27%
2 International Shares 40.5%
3 Fixed Interest 2%
4 Alternative 18%
5 Property 5.5%
6 Other 4%
7 Cash 3%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Indexed Diversified 0.64% 6.59% 6.76%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
AustralianSuper - Indexed Diversified VS Median -1.36% -0.01% 0.06%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Indexed Diversified 137.8 0.15% $212.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 28%
2 International Shares 42%
3 Fixed Interest 22%
4 Cash 8%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Diversified Fixed Interest -3.94% 0.19% 1.44%
Median - - -
AustralianSuper - Diversified Fixed Interest VS Median -3.94% 0.19% 1.44%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Diversified Fixed Interest 137.8 0.38% $327.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Fixed Interest 96.5%
2 Other 2%
3 Cash 1.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Conservative Balanced 1.01% 5.61% 6.08%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
AustralianSuper - Conservative Balanced VS Median -0.09% 0.91% 1.08%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Conservative Balanced 137.8 0.62% $447.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 14.5%
2 International Shares 21.5%
3 Fixed Interest 24.5%
4 Alternative 16%
5 Property 5.5%
6 Other 7%
7 Cash 11%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Australian Shares 8.18% 9.72% 10.2%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
AustralianSuper - Australian Shares VS Median 5.98% 1.92% 2.4%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Australian Shares 137.8 0.22% $247.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 99.5%
2 Cash 0.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Stable 0.05% 3.55% 4.38%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
AustralianSuper - Stable VS Median -0.05% 0.65% 0.68%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Stable 137.8 0.42% $347.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 7.5%
2 International Shares 11.5%
3 Fixed Interest 29.5%
4 Alternative 13%
5 Property 6.5%
6 Other 8%
7 Cash 24%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Balanced 2.56% 7.83% 8.07%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
AustralianSuper - Balanced VS Median 0.56% 1.23% 1.37%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Balanced 137.8 0.67% $472.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 21%
2 International Shares 31%
3 Fixed Interest 11%
4 Alternative 19.5%
5 Property 6%
6 Other 5.5%
7 Cash 6%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - International Shares -5.3% 10.58% 9.85%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
AustralianSuper - International Shares VS Median -7.5% 2.78% 2.05%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - International Shares 137.8 0.48% $377.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 International Shares 99.5%
2 Cash 0.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
AustralianSuper - Socially Aware 2.11% 6.36% 6.62%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
AustralianSuper - Socially Aware VS Median 0.11% -0.24% -0.08%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
AustralianSuper - Socially Aware 137.8 0.72% $497.8

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 21%
2 International Shares 31%
3 Fixed Interest 11%
4 Alternative 19.5%
5 Property 6%
6 Other 5.5%
7 Cash 6%

Investment Rating

Morningstar

'Top 10.0%'
5/5

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

AustralianSuper has received a 68/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Australian Super Fund Information

ABN: 65 714 394 898

USI: STA0100AU

Address: GPO Box 1901 Melbourne VIC 3001

Australian Super Reviews

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

AustralianSuper was formed by the merger of ARF & STA in 2006, which were founded in 1981. It is an Industry super fund, although it does not cater to a specific industry.
AustralianSuper has maintained a long-term strategy to increase in scale, believing it will bring the benefits of economies of scale to their members. AustralianSuper is now the largest superannuation fund in Australia with 2.4 million members and $233 billion in assets under management.

AustralianSuper Investment Options

AustralianSuper has six pre-mixed investment options, Four DIY Mix investment options and Member direct options. See below.
Pre-Mixed:
High Growth, Balanced, Socially Aware, Indexed Diversified, Conservative Balanced and Stable.
DIY Mix:
Australian Shares, International Shares, Diversified Fixed Interest and Cash.
Member Direct:
Shares in the S&P/ASX 300 Index, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs), Listed Investment Companies (LICs) and term deposits.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - High Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - High Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Indexed Diversified investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Indexed Diversified investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Conservative Balanced investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Conservative Balanced investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Australian Shares investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Australian Shares investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Stable investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Stable investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Balanced investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Balanced investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - International Shares investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - International Shares investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper's AustralianSuper - Socially Aware investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper's fees for their AustralianSuper - Socially Aware investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

AustralianSuper Performance

AustralianSuper’s Balanced (default) investment option outperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years measured against Chant West’s median performance. It has performed second best over 5 years out of funds listed on Review My Super.
AustralianSuper’s High Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years, measured against Chant West’s median performance.
AustralianSuper’s Conservative investment option outperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years, measured against Chant Wests median performance.

AustralianSuper Fees

AustralianSuper’s fees are below average compared to other funds listed on Review My Super. There is no industry benchmark for fees to compare against. 

AustralianSuper Insurance

AustralianSuper automatically provides most of its members with basic Death, Total & Permanent Disablement (TPD) and Income Protection cover. This cover starts at age 25 for balances above $6,000.
Basic cover is age-based and designed to provide a minimum amount of cover through different life stages. The cost depends on your age and work rating.
Death –
The default cover is aged based. You’re able to apply for a different amount to the default cover. There is no limit on the amount of cover you can have.
TPD – The default cover is aged based. You’re able to apply for a different amount to the default cover. The maximum amount of cover you can have is $3 million.
Income protection – The default waiting period is 60 days and the benefit period is 2 years. The cover amount and cost varies depending on your age.
You can change the waiting period, benefit period and cover amount. The maximum amount of cover is the lesser of $30,000 per month or 85% of your salary.
AustralianSuper insurance is provided by TAL Life Limited.

You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

AustralianSuper’s AustralianSuper – Balanced option has Out performed the median over 5 years.
Fees for this option are slightly above the median out of Balanced/MySuper funds listed on Review My Super.
Based on this evidence, it would be unreasonable to declare AustralianSuper a good super fund. However, there are many factors which determine whether a super fund is good or bad and it can differ depending on personal requirements. We recommend you speak to a qualified adviser in order to work out which is the best super fund for you.

Yes, AustralianSuper is an APRA fund.

Yes, AustralianSuper is an industry fund.

3.3 7 Reviews
How would you rate
1.7 3 Reviews
Service
1.5 2 Reviews
Performance
1.5 2 Reviews
Fees
1.3 3 Reviews
Insurance
1.7 3 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
17 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Totally incompetent organization. Pathetic back office.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

If you are planning to make a super claim, brace yourself. After the initial setup you won’t be able to phone them, you wont get your emails responded to, they will simply leave you in limbo. Check other reviews if you don’t believe me.
It took them 5 months to finally tell me I hadn’t had my insurance with them long enough, I asked if this would be a problem at the beginning.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago

AustralianSuper have been absolutely terrible. Failing to provide policy claims or delaying making a decision on income protection 6 months onwards. I have provided more medical proof then you can poke a stick at but nothing helps. I wish I had of checked reviews online before joining because thousands of people are getting the same treatment. You get ignored, delayed, unsympathetic, unprofessional, fraudulent.

Stay away people !!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Been with them for 6 months and even though the market has recovered I have still lost $4,500… in 6 months!!!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Excellent returns and easy to access and use online

Anonymous
Anonymous
23 days ago

I’ve been with Australian Super for more than 20 years and I can’t fault them.

Anonymous
Anonymous
20 days ago
How would you rate :
     

An excellent, value for money fund that has performed well since I joined 3 year’s ago.

Anonymous
Anonymous
19 days ago

to early to tell

Anonymous
Anonymous
19 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Onhold on the phone for over 1 hr no call back service. not good enough .

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     

You only get hold of a computer that takes you in circales when you phone.Can’t get through to a operator and if you do you can’t anderstand them because their english is bad and not very helpfull.How do you get hold of a operator straight away when you phone,

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Very bad customer service, No service, No help, No one answers the phone. Does any one work there.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 days ago

Once again tried to phone to talk to a person not a computer just a waste of time.

Anonymous
Anonymous
8 days ago
How would you rate :
     

I feel Australian super is either the best or one of the best three funds in Australia.

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Sent in required forms, no acknowledgment they had arrived, asked to send them again, received acknowledgement, but too late for tax deduction for financial year, duck shoved, denied responsibility, basically couldn’t give a poo.
Am going to find out how I can get out of them and go somewhere else. I am in my ’70’s, I don’t need this crap.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Paid more in fees than I did when I had a super account with Colonial First Estate (CommBank SMSF). Was ridiculous, I made multiple withdrawals for the full balance only to find they would keep $28 just to keep the account running and so they could get their fees that month.
Utterly ridiculous. My last job paid $23 into my account but they say it was closed and I can’t access it. Employer shows proof it was paid. Save your money and go with someone else!!

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 days ago
How would you rate :
     

At the moment all funds are down except cash portfolio

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Zero points for customer service. ACFA complaint lodged

AustralianSuper
Compare Insurance
17
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
AustralianSuper

Are you with AustralianSuper?

3.3 7 Reviews
How would you rate
1.7 3 Reviews
Service
1.5 2 Reviews
Performance
1.5 2 Reviews
Fees
1.3 3 Reviews
Insurance
1.7 3 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
17 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Totally incompetent organization. Pathetic back office.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

If you are planning to make a super claim, brace yourself. After the initial setup you won’t be able to phone them, you wont get your emails responded to, they will simply leave you in limbo. Check other reviews if you don’t believe me.
It took them 5 months to finally tell me I hadn’t had my insurance with them long enough, I asked if this would be a problem at the beginning.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago

AustralianSuper have been absolutely terrible. Failing to provide policy claims or delaying making a decision on income protection 6 months onwards. I have provided more medical proof then you can poke a stick at but nothing helps. I wish I had of checked reviews online before joining because thousands of people are getting the same treatment. You get ignored, delayed, unsympathetic, unprofessional, fraudulent.

Stay away people !!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Been with them for 6 months and even though the market has recovered I have still lost $4,500… in 6 months!!!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Excellent returns and easy to access and use online

Anonymous
Anonymous
23 days ago

I’ve been with Australian Super for more than 20 years and I can’t fault them.

Anonymous
Anonymous
20 days ago
How would you rate :
     

An excellent, value for money fund that has performed well since I joined 3 year’s ago.

Anonymous
Anonymous
19 days ago

to early to tell

Anonymous
Anonymous
19 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Onhold on the phone for over 1 hr no call back service. not good enough .

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     

You only get hold of a computer that takes you in circales when you phone.Can’t get through to a operator and if you do you can’t anderstand them because their english is bad and not very helpfull.How do you get hold of a operator straight away when you phone,

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Very bad customer service, No service, No help, No one answers the phone. Does any one work there.

Anonymous
Anonymous
12 days ago

Once again tried to phone to talk to a person not a computer just a waste of time.

Anonymous
Anonymous
8 days ago
How would you rate :
     

I feel Australian super is either the best or one of the best three funds in Australia.

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Sent in required forms, no acknowledgment they had arrived, asked to send them again, received acknowledgement, but too late for tax deduction for financial year, duck shoved, denied responsibility, basically couldn’t give a poo.
Am going to find out how I can get out of them and go somewhere else. I am in my ’70’s, I don’t need this crap.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Paid more in fees than I did when I had a super account with Colonial First Estate (CommBank SMSF). Was ridiculous, I made multiple withdrawals for the full balance only to find they would keep $28 just to keep the account running and so they could get their fees that month.
Utterly ridiculous. My last job paid $23 into my account but they say it was closed and I can’t access it. Employer shows proof it was paid. Save your money and go with someone else!!

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 days ago
How would you rate :
     

At the moment all funds are down except cash portfolio

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Zero points for customer service. ACFA complaint lodged