CBUS Super Review

CBUS Super Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Cbus - Growth (MySuper) 1.31% 6.96% 7.2%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
Cbus - Growth (MySuper) VS Median -0.69% 0.36% 0.5%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Cbus - Growth (MySuper) 104 0.7% $454

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 20.5%
2 International Shares 24%
3 Fixed Interest 8%
4 Alternative 31.5%
5 Property 12%
6 Cash 4%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Cbus - High Growth 0.88% 8.86% 8.67%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Cbus - High Growth VS Median -1.32% 1.06% 0.87%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Cbus - High Growth 104 0.75% $479

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 30%
2 International Shares 35%
3 Alternative 25%
4 Property 8%
5 Cash 2%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Cbus - Conservative Growth -0.35% 4.75% -
Median 1.1% 4.7% -
Cbus - Conservative Growth VS Median -1.45% 0.05% -

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Cbus - Conservative Growth 104 0.55% $379

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 14.5%
2 International Shares 17%
3 Fixed Interest 17%
4 Alternative 24.5%
5 Property 9%
6 Other 7.5%
7 Cash 10.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Cbus - Conservative -1.32% 2.72% 3.67%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
Cbus - Conservative VS Median -1.42% -0.18% -0.03%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Cbus - Conservative 104 0.44% $324

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 7%
2 International Shares 8.5%
3 Fixed Interest 28.5%
4 Alternative 20%
5 Property 6.5%
6 Other 10%
7 Cash 19.5%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

CBUS Super has received a 65/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Fund Information

ABN: 75 493 363 262

USI: CBU0100AU

Address: Locked Bag 5056, Parramatta NSW 2124

 

CBUS Super Reviews

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

Founded in 1987, CBUS is an Industry fund that predominantly caters to workers in the construction industry. “As Australia’s largest super fund for the building, construction and allied industries, we’re built for you. We invest in property projects across the country, creating jobs for all of us.”
As of 31/12/2020 CBUS had 765,000 members with $59 billion of assets under management.

CBUS Super Investment Options

CBUS Super has 5 investment options. These include Growth (MySuper), Cash Savings, Conservative, Conservative Growth and High Growth.

CBUS Super also has a ‘Self Managed’ option, which allows members to invest in a range of Australian Shares, Exchange traded funds (ETFs), Term Deposits and Managed investments including property and infrastructure.

CBUS Super Performance

CBUS Super’s Growth (MySuper) and High Growth investment options outperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years, while the Conservative option outperformed the median over 3 and 5 years and underperformed the median over 1 year.
See CBUS Vs AustralianSuper comparison.

CBUS Super Fees

CBUS Super’s fees for their Growth (MySuper) option are below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Insurance

CBUS Super offers death and TPD insurance cover to their members.

Whilst most members are offered default Death and Total and permanent Disablement Cover, they can also apply for Income Protection Cover.

Additional cover is available with the following limits:
Death – $5 million
TPD – $2 million.
Income protection – up to 85% of your income with a maximum of $30,000 per month.
Insurance is provided by TAL Life Limited. You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Cbus’s Cbus – Growth (MySuper) option has Out performed the median over 5 years.
Fees for this option are slightly above the median out of Balanced/MySuper funds listed on Review My Super.
Based on this evidence, it would be unreasonable to declare Cbus a good super fund. However, there are many factors which determine whether a super fund is good or bad and it can differ depending on personal requirements. We recommend you speak to a qualified adviser in order to work out which is the best super fund for you.

CBUS stands for, Construction and Building Unions Superannuation.

5 1 Review
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
5 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

We decided to invest in a specific property so set up a SMSF to do this. My wife posted her forms to Unisuper and they received them 2 business days later than CBus got mine but Unisuper still managed to do the actual rollover within 3 business days of receipt of the forms and it was quick, easy and their call centre answered our questions first time. CBus have been a complete nightmare to deal with, won’t respond to written requests for an update, can’t get any answer from the call centre, just a fib off or worse still you ring once and are told it has been passed along to be handled by their rollover team then you ring back and they tell you they haven’t received the required paperwork even though you have an email (automated) acknowledging receipt of the paperwork. They then tell you the paperwork isn’t certified properly as they clearly don’t understand the certification requirements (my wife is a retired legal academic and checked it was all compliant before sending) and then finally they acknowledge that it is right and accept it as is. They delayed so long we are now in default under our purchase contract and have to pay interest on the purchase amount to the vendor and just to add insult to injury, they kept loosing money every day during the 27 days it took them to do the rollover! We even rang and lodged a formal complaint and were told they would respond within 3 business days, but 6 days later, still no response. All they have done is ensure i would never roll back to them if we decide we don’t like being a SMSF, Unisuper who outperformed CBus in terms of returns anyway would now be my fund if choice

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Officious, difficult, pedantic.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

So many fees and they are not transparent when invest your money

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Procrastination 5 ☆☆☆☆☆. Uncaring 5☆☆☆☆☆. 4 days to reply emails, 3 days to reply postal mail 5☆☆☆☆☆. Internal emails between person on phone to benefit team 4 days 5☆☆☆☆. Donot submit requests electronically by email as they get suddenly deleted 5☆☆☆☆☆. Submit by post registered with tracking certified in Ink at a Post Office, driver licence, 2 house bill, or 1 council rates /1 bank statement. Follow these and they can’t procrastinate any longer 5☆☆☆☆☆

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

I have been with Cbus 1984 and I am very much happy with them and they are doing a good job with my super

CBUS Super
Compare Insurance
5
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
CBUS Super

Are you with CBUS Super?

5 1 Review
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
5 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

We decided to invest in a specific property so set up a SMSF to do this. My wife posted her forms to Unisuper and they received them 2 business days later than CBus got mine but Unisuper still managed to do the actual rollover within 3 business days of receipt of the forms and it was quick, easy and their call centre answered our questions first time. CBus have been a complete nightmare to deal with, won’t respond to written requests for an update, can’t get any answer from the call centre, just a fib off or worse still you ring once and are told it has been passed along to be handled by their rollover team then you ring back and they tell you they haven’t received the required paperwork even though you have an email (automated) acknowledging receipt of the paperwork. They then tell you the paperwork isn’t certified properly as they clearly don’t understand the certification requirements (my wife is a retired legal academic and checked it was all compliant before sending) and then finally they acknowledge that it is right and accept it as is. They delayed so long we are now in default under our purchase contract and have to pay interest on the purchase amount to the vendor and just to add insult to injury, they kept loosing money every day during the 27 days it took them to do the rollover! We even rang and lodged a formal complaint and were told they would respond within 3 business days, but 6 days later, still no response. All they have done is ensure i would never roll back to them if we decide we don’t like being a SMSF, Unisuper who outperformed CBus in terms of returns anyway would now be my fund if choice

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Officious, difficult, pedantic.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

So many fees and they are not transparent when invest your money

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Procrastination 5 ☆☆☆☆☆. Uncaring 5☆☆☆☆☆. 4 days to reply emails, 3 days to reply postal mail 5☆☆☆☆☆. Internal emails between person on phone to benefit team 4 days 5☆☆☆☆. Donot submit requests electronically by email as they get suddenly deleted 5☆☆☆☆☆. Submit by post registered with tracking certified in Ink at a Post Office, driver licence, 2 house bill, or 1 council rates /1 bank statement. Follow these and they can’t procrastinate any longer 5☆☆☆☆☆

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

I have been with Cbus 1984 and I am very much happy with them and they are doing a good job with my super