ESSSuper Review

ESSSuper Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Balanced 1.34% 4.31% 4.7%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
ESSSuper Accum State - Balanced VS Median 1.24% 1.41% 1%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Balanced 52 0.8% $452

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 11.5%
2 International Shares 15.5%
3 Fixed Interest 26.5%
4 Alternative 11%
5 Property 6%
6 Other 11%
7 Cash 18.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Conservative 0.06% 2.62% 3.2%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
ESSSuper Accum State - Conservative VS Median -0.04% -0.28% -0.5%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Conservative 52 0.62% $362

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 6%
2 International Shares 8.5%
3 Fixed Interest 20%
4 Alternative 7.5%
5 Property 4%
6 Other 9%
7 Cash 45%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Defensive -1.51% 1.11% 1.86%
Median - - -
ESSSuper Accum State - Defensive VS Median -1.51% 1.11% 1.86%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Defensive 52 0.51% $307

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 3%
2 International Shares 4%
3 Fixed Interest 28%
4 Alternative 4.5%
5 Property 2%
6 Other 5%
7 Cash 53.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Basic Growth 3.86% 7.57% -
Median 2% 6.6% -
ESSSuper Accum State - Basic Growth VS Median 1.86% 0.97% -

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Basic Growth 52 0.52% $312

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 26.5%
2 International Shares 33%
3 Fixed Interest 10%
4 Alternative 7.5%
5 Property 5%
6 Other 7.5%
7 Cash 10.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Shares Only 1.43% 8.7% 8.65%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
ESSSuper Accum State - Shares Only VS Median -0.77% 0.9% 0.85%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Shares Only 52 0.7% $402

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 40%
2 International Shares 60%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Growth 2.44% 5.67% 5.91%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
ESSSuper Accum State - Growth VS Median 1.34% 0.97% 0.91%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Growth 52 0.83% $467

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 21%
2 International Shares 22.5%
3 Fixed Interest 13.5%
4 Alternative 13.5%
5 Property 7%
6 Other 12.5%
7 Cash 10%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - High Growth 2.87% 7.52% 7.47%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
ESSSuper Accum State - High Growth VS Median 0.67% -0.28% -0.33%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - High Growth 52 0.85% $477

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 29.5%
2 International Shares 41%
3 Fixed Interest 2.5%
4 Alternative 13.5%
5 Property 6%
6 Other 4%
7 Cash 3.5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
ESSSuper Accum State - Ethically Minded 2.96% 7.01% -
Median 2% 6.6% -
ESSSuper Accum State - Ethically Minded VS Median 0.96% 0.41% -

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
ESSSuper Accum State - Ethically Minded 52 0.87% $487

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 26%
2 International Shares 34%
3 Fixed Interest 15%
4 Alternative 15%
5 Property 5%
6 Cash 5%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

ESSSuper has received a 65/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Fund Information

ABN: 85 894 637 037

USI: ESS0003AU

Address: GPO Box 1974, Melbourne VIC 3001

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

Founded almost 100 years ago, ESSSuper is a large not-for-profit super fund linked to Victorian emergency services and state employees.

As of 30 June 2020 ESSSuper has over 132,000 members with $31 Billion in defined benefit and accumulation fund assets under management.

ESSSuper Investment Options

ESSSuper’s Accumulation Plan has 7 Standard investment options and 2 alternative investment options.

Standard investment options: Shares Only, High Growth, Growth (default), Balanced, Conservative, Defensive and Cash

Alternative investment options: Basic Growth and Ethically Minded

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Balanced investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Balanced investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Conservative investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Conservative investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Defensive investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Defensive investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Basic Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Basic Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Shares Only investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Shares Only investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - High Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - High Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Performance

ESSSuper's ESSSuper Accum State - Ethically Minded investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of ESSSuper Performance
See ESSSuper vs Australian Super to see how ESSSuper compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

ESSSuper Fees

ESSSuper's fees for their ESSSuper Accum State - Ethically Minded investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

ESSSuper Insurance

ESSSuper offers death and TPD insurance cover to their members.

Members are able to apply for additional Insurance Cover, which can include Death Cover, Death and TPD cover and Income Protection cover.

Additional cover is available with the following limits:
Death – $2 million.
TPD – $2 million.
Income protection – the lesser of 85% of your income or $25,000 per month
Insurance is provided by AIA Australia Limited. You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

ESSSuper Financial Advice

ESSSuper can provide General advice at no additional cost.
ESSSuper also provide personal advice. This will be provided by a financial adviser and a Statement of Advice issued, this will most likely come at a cost.
Advice is provided by Link Advice Pty Ltd.
A benefit of seeking advice through ESSSuper is it is free for general advice and the advisers will be very familiar with ESSSuper and all its options.
A downside is they will not likely recommend funds other than ESSSuper, even if there are more suitable options.
To speak with an advisor that can consider all available funds and insurers in the market, please fill out the ‘Speak To An Advisor’ form on this page.

Frequently Asked Questions

ESSSuper stands for Emergency Services and State Super.

ESSSuper is not designated by Industry Super Australia as an Industry fund. However, they are a not for profit fund catering to a specific industry.

 
0 0 Reviews
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
9 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

Starting g to become somewhat concerned about fund management, accumulation fund balance option losing on much more days than gaining,

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Members could not access their money for nearly 2 months due to an IT upgrade. Imagine if a bank did this. Appalling management of a super fund. I am a long term member of ESSSSuper, joined in the 1980s. But I have been locked out of my income stream for 7 weeks because my super fund was undergoing an IT upgrade. ESSSuper seems to have forgotten it is members money they hold. I will be seeking an embargo on administration fees while my account was locked.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

ESSS was once a great fund, but now it is absolutely hopeless. ESSS shut down member access for six weeks from January to March 2022 in order to conduct system upgrades. Since the upgrades access is impossible. The on-line code re-sets do not work, members are being locked out and have to call up, but nobody answers the telephones. Consequently members cannot get any information regarding their specific performance, status of accounts or any service from ESSS. Members are considering ‘class action against ESSS and/or moving to other super funds. If there was an option for minus stars I would rate them in minus.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Was looking forward to retirement, but now its a nightmare I never envisaged having my income deprived from me which incorporates 38 years of contributions witheld and havent had any money coming in for over two months or any chance of any plans to travel or enjoy life owing to ESSsuper denying me my defined benefit and lump sum,My planner is waiting to organise an income stream and also centrelink entitlment and in general work out my financial future but now with no benefit forthcoming am in limbo and cannot be considered to be . retired and for the first time in 50years have no wages or salary and am losing money every day that this is not resolved I am sick of spending up to two hours at a time on the phone to be told lies, I was told to change my password to gain access to the website but am blocked out from it even though I did that, it just goes on and on, if I didnt contact the call centre no one would bother contacting me and I have heard absolutley nothing unless I ring and wait for two hours to be told untruths My partner is reduced to tears, and my nights are sleepless I really didnt think this is what my retierment would produce and how I would be treated by ESSSuper who are supposed to be on my side to secure my income. I heard the acting CEO telling Tom Elliott he was setting up a phone line for people who are suffering hardship, so when you ring its the same phone line that takes you nowhere, which is a little bit more torture for people who are in financial hardship because of this, My local member of parliament put me on to a board member he knew and everything he said in his reply email was just spin, I could go on about the discraceful service but being asked to rate esssuper is like being asked to rate the safety of the titanic

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

ESS Super refusing to make payment. Have been waiting on a death benefit that was approved on 3 February this year. It has now been over 3 months and despite dozens of calls no payment. The most reason answer was it is hard to work out the interest payable and has been returned from each section with the comment don’t know how to do it. They constantly tell me they are not answerable to any body and take them to VCAT. I know there is a possible class action case and would like to join this if I can find out which firm? I am now emailing the Assistant Treasurer of Victoria as it is under his portfolio. Something has to been done about ESS Super!!!.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

The way this new system implementation has been managed is an example of world’s worst practice. I am really concerned about the calibre and competency of the people in-charge. They’re only now communicating about whats’ happened because this debacle has started to feature in the media. People are suffering needlessly due to this poor implementation.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

very poor terrible new database

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

At the moment I am not happy with them at all. Retired in April 2022 and am unable to access my money. Way too long wait times on the phone for enquiries. The backlog is huge for applications for your retirement income stream. You only have to go on Product Review to see all those poor customers who are in financial distress.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

ESS superannuation have become extremely untruthful, unreliable and have withheld my funds for 4 months. The online email system is ignored when you request information, the telephone staff give unreliable and blatantly false information regarding requested payments. The Board should be sacked.

ESSSuper
Compare Insurance
9
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
ESSSuper

Are you with ESSSuper?

0 0 Reviews
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
9 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

Starting g to become somewhat concerned about fund management, accumulation fund balance option losing on much more days than gaining,

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Members could not access their money for nearly 2 months due to an IT upgrade. Imagine if a bank did this. Appalling management of a super fund. I am a long term member of ESSSSuper, joined in the 1980s. But I have been locked out of my income stream for 7 weeks because my super fund was undergoing an IT upgrade. ESSSuper seems to have forgotten it is members money they hold. I will be seeking an embargo on administration fees while my account was locked.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

ESSS was once a great fund, but now it is absolutely hopeless. ESSS shut down member access for six weeks from January to March 2022 in order to conduct system upgrades. Since the upgrades access is impossible. The on-line code re-sets do not work, members are being locked out and have to call up, but nobody answers the telephones. Consequently members cannot get any information regarding their specific performance, status of accounts or any service from ESSS. Members are considering ‘class action against ESSS and/or moving to other super funds. If there was an option for minus stars I would rate them in minus.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Was looking forward to retirement, but now its a nightmare I never envisaged having my income deprived from me which incorporates 38 years of contributions witheld and havent had any money coming in for over two months or any chance of any plans to travel or enjoy life owing to ESSsuper denying me my defined benefit and lump sum,My planner is waiting to organise an income stream and also centrelink entitlment and in general work out my financial future but now with no benefit forthcoming am in limbo and cannot be considered to be . retired and for the first time in 50years have no wages or salary and am losing money every day that this is not resolved I am sick of spending up to two hours at a time on the phone to be told lies, I was told to change my password to gain access to the website but am blocked out from it even though I did that, it just goes on and on, if I didnt contact the call centre no one would bother contacting me and I have heard absolutley nothing unless I ring and wait for two hours to be told untruths My partner is reduced to tears, and my nights are sleepless I really didnt think this is what my retierment would produce and how I would be treated by ESSSuper who are supposed to be on my side to secure my income. I heard the acting CEO telling Tom Elliott he was setting up a phone line for people who are suffering hardship, so when you ring its the same phone line that takes you nowhere, which is a little bit more torture for people who are in financial hardship because of this, My local member of parliament put me on to a board member he knew and everything he said in his reply email was just spin, I could go on about the discraceful service but being asked to rate esssuper is like being asked to rate the safety of the titanic

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

ESS Super refusing to make payment. Have been waiting on a death benefit that was approved on 3 February this year. It has now been over 3 months and despite dozens of calls no payment. The most reason answer was it is hard to work out the interest payable and has been returned from each section with the comment don’t know how to do it. They constantly tell me they are not answerable to any body and take them to VCAT. I know there is a possible class action case and would like to join this if I can find out which firm? I am now emailing the Assistant Treasurer of Victoria as it is under his portfolio. Something has to been done about ESS Super!!!.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

The way this new system implementation has been managed is an example of world’s worst practice. I am really concerned about the calibre and competency of the people in-charge. They’re only now communicating about whats’ happened because this debacle has started to feature in the media. People are suffering needlessly due to this poor implementation.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

very poor terrible new database

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

At the moment I am not happy with them at all. Retired in April 2022 and am unable to access my money. Way too long wait times on the phone for enquiries. The backlog is huge for applications for your retirement income stream. You only have to go on Product Review to see all those poor customers who are in financial distress.

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

ESS superannuation have become extremely untruthful, unreliable and have withheld my funds for 4 months. The online email system is ignored when you request information, the telephone staff give unreliable and blatantly false information regarding requested payments. The Board should be sacked.