GESB Super Review

GESB Superannuation Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - International Shares -0.83% 8.75% 8.24%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
GESB Super - International Shares VS Median -3.03% 0.95% 0.44%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - International Shares 66 0.45% $291

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 International Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Balanced Plan 0.48% 4.45% 5.05%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
GESB Super - Balanced Plan VS Median -0.62% -0.25% 0.05%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Balanced Plan 66 0.62% $376

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 19%
2 International Shares 23%
3 Fixed Interest 24%
4 Alternative 23%
5 Property 6.01%
6 Cash 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Growth Plan 2.82% 6.88% 6.92%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
GESB Super - Growth Plan VS Median 0.62% -0.92% -0.88%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Growth Plan 66 0.74% $436

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 31.5%
2 International Shares 38.5%
3 Fixed Interest 3%
4 Alternative 17%
5 Property 8%
6 Cash 2%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Australian Shares 6.96% 8.02% 8.71%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
GESB Super - Australian Shares VS Median 4.76% 0.22% 0.91%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Australian Shares 66 0.48% $306

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Fixed Interest -6.93% -0.86% 1.08%
Median - - -
GESB Super - Fixed Interest VS Median -6.93% -0.86% 1.08%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Fixed Interest 66 0.46% $296

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Fixed Interest 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - My GESB Super Plan 2.09% 5.95% 6.14%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
GESB Super - My GESB Super Plan VS Median 0.09% -0.65% -0.56%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - My GESB Super Plan 66 0.69% $411

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 25.5%
2 International Shares 31%
3 Fixed Interest 11%
4 Alternative 22.5%
5 Property 8%
6 Cash 2%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Conservative Plan -0.69% 2.91% 3.58%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
GESB Super - Conservative Plan VS Median -0.79% 0.01% -0.12%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Conservative Plan 66 0.5% $316

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 12%
2 International Shares 15%
3 Fixed Interest 26%
4 Alternative 23%
5 Property 4%
6 Cash 20%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
GESB Super - Property 1.3% 1.63% 3.74%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
GESB Super - Property VS Median -0.9% -6.17% -4.06%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
GESB Super - Property 66 0.63% $381

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Property 100%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

GESB Super has received a 61/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Fund Information

ABN: 82 144 194 929

USI: 82144194929050

Address: PO Box J 755 Perth WA 6842

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

GESB Super began managing the super savings of current and former WA public sector employees in 1939. Today they have around 240,000 members and over $35 billion in funds under management (as at 30 September 2021). GESB Super can only accept employer contributions from WA public sector employers.

GESB Super Investment Options

GESB Super has five ‘Readymade plans’ and five ‘Mix Your Plans’ investment options. See below:
Readymade plans:
Growth plan, My GESB Super plan (default), Balanced plan, Conservative plan, and Cash plan.
Mix Your Plans:
Australian Shares, International shares, Property, Fixed Interest and Cash.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - International Shares investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - International Shares investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Balanced Plan investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Balanced Plan investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Growth Plan investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Growth Plan investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Australian Shares investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Australian Shares investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Fixed Interest investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Fixed Interest investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - My GESB Super Plan investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - My GESB Super Plan investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Conservative Plan investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Conservative Plan investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super's GESB Super - Property investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of GESB Super Performance
See GESB Super vs Australian Super to see how GESB Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super's fees for their GESB Super - Property investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

GESB Super Performance

GESB Super’s My GESB Super plan (default) investment option outperformed the median over the past 1 year but underperformed over the past 3 and 5 years measured against Chant West’s median performance.
GESB Super’s Growth plan investment option underperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years, measured against Chant West’s median performance.
GESB Super’s Conservative plan investment option underperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years, measured against Chant Wests median performance.
See GESB Vs AustralianSuper comparison.

GESB Super Fees

GESB Super’s fees are below the median compared to other funds listed on Review My Super.
The default option is ranked 8th lowest based on a balance of $50,000 for options of the same risk tolerance on Review My Super. There is no industry benchmark for fees to compare against.

Insurance

GESB Super automatically provides most of its members with basic Death, Total & Permanent Disablement (TPD) and Salary Continuance Insurance with the following benefits:
Death – Up to $200,000 depending on your age.
TPD – Up to $200,000 depending on your age.
Salary Continuance – Up to $4,200 per month determined by the number of hours per week that you work.
GESB Super insurance is provided by AIA Australia. GESB also facilitate applications for greater level of cover directly through AIA.
You can also compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

GESB Super stands for Government Employees Superannuation Board

No, it is a public sector fund

3.7 3 Reviews
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
4 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Reluctant to put things in writing, don’t always explain things clearly or follow instructions precisely, not best performing

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Seems to keep underperforming

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Trusted super fund with good retirement returns

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Overall a good fund with reasonable performance over the short to long term. Insurance premiums a littler higher than comparable funds.

GESB Super
Compare Insurance
4
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
GESB Super

Are you with GESB Super?

3.7 3 Reviews
How would you rate
0 0 Reviews
Service
0 0 Reviews
Performance
0 0 Reviews
Fees
0 0 Reviews
Insurance
0 0 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
4 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Reluctant to put things in writing, don’t always explain things clearly or follow instructions precisely, not best performing

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Seems to keep underperforming

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Trusted super fund with good retirement returns

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Overall a good fund with reasonable performance over the short to long term. Insurance premiums a littler higher than comparable funds.