HESTA Super Review

HESTA Logo - Review My Super

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Balanced Growth 3.78% 7.34% 7.46%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
HESTA Pers - Balanced Growth VS Median 1.78% 0.74% 0.76%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Balanced Growth 65 0.89% $510

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 24%
2 International Shares 30%
3 Fixed Interest 19%
4 Alternative 16%
5 Property 6%
6 Cash 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Diversified Bonds -6.8% -0.87% 1.12%
Median - - -
HESTA Pers - Diversified Bonds VS Median -6.8% -0.87% 1.12%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Diversified Bonds 65 0.36% $245

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Fixed Interest 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - International Shares -6.21% 9.42% 8.27%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
HESTA Pers - International Shares VS Median -8.41% 1.62% 0.47%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - International Shares 65 0.5% $315

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 International Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Property and Infrastructure 13.44% 6.1% 6.53%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
HESTA Pers - Property and Infrastructure VS Median 12.34% 1.4% 1.53%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Property and Infrastructure 65 1.02% $575

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Alternative 45%
2 Property 45%
3 Cash 10%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - High Growth 5.16% 9.58% 9.23%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
HESTA Pers - High Growth VS Median 2.96% 1.78% 1.43%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - High Growth 65 1.22% $675

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 33%
2 International Shares 37.5%
3 Fixed Interest 6%
4 Alternative 17.5%
5 Property 4%
6 Cash 2%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Sustainable Growth -1.07% 8.07% 8.23%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
HESTA Pers - Sustainable Growth VS Median -3.07% 1.47% 1.53%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Sustainable Growth 65 1.28% $705

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 29%
2 International Shares 35%
3 Fixed Interest 17%
4 Alternative 4%
5 Property 10%
6 Cash 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Conservative 1.33% 4.09% 4.86%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
HESTA Pers - Conservative VS Median 1.23% 1.19% 1.16%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Conservative 65 0.49% $310

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 11%
2 International Shares 11%
3 Fixed Interest 38%
4 Alternative 13.5%
5 Property 8.5%
6 Cash 18%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
HESTA Pers - Australian Shares 6.12% 8.71% 9.15%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
HESTA Pers - Australian Shares VS Median 3.92% 0.91% 1.35%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
HESTA Pers - Australian Shares 65 0.39% $260

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 100%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

HESTA Super has received a 64/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

HESTA Fund Information

ABN: 64 971 749 321

USI: HST0100AU

Address: Locked Bag 5136 Parramatta NSW 2124

 

HESTA Super Reviews

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

Founded in 1987, HESTA Super is an Industry super fund and is linked to employees of the health and community service sectors.

HESTA Super has over 880,000 members with $60 Billion in assets under management.

HESTA Super Investment Options

HESTA Super has 5 ‘Ready-Made options’ and 5 ‘Your Choice options’
Ready-Made options:
Balanced Growth, Conservative, Indexed Balanced Growth, Sustainable Growth and High Growth.
Your Choice options:
Cash and Term Deposits, Diversified Bonds, Property and Infrastructure, International Shares and Australian Shares

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Balanced Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Balanced Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Diversified Bonds investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Diversified Bonds investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - International Shares investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - International Shares investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Property and Infrastructure investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Property and Infrastructure investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - High Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - High Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Sustainable Growth investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Sustainable Growth investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Conservative investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Conservative investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA's HESTA Pers - Australian Shares investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of HESTA Performance
See HESTA vs Australian Super to see how HESTA compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA's fees for their HESTA Pers - Australian Shares investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HESTA Super Performance

HESTA Super’s Conservative, Balanced Growth and High Growth investment options have outperformed the median over 1, 3, and 5 years.

HESTA Super Fees

HESTA Super’s fees for their MySuper option are below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper options listed on Review My Super.

Insurance

HESTA Super offers life, TPD and income protection Insurance to their members.
You can apply to increase your cover above the default rates, with the following limits:
Death – $3 million.
TPD – $2 million.
Income protection – $25,000 per month, capped at the lesser of the monthly benefit equal to the units of cover
last accepted for that Insured member and 85% of the insured member’s Pre-Disability Income.
Insurance is provided by AIA Australia Ltd. You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

HESTA’s HESTA Pers – Balanced Growth option has Out performed the median over 5 years.
Fees for this option are slightly above the median out of Balanced/MySuper funds listed on Review My Super.
Based on this evidence, it would be unreasonable to declare HESTA a good super fund. However, there are many factors which determine whether a super fund is good or bad and it can differ depending on personal requirements. We recommend you speak to a qualified adviser in order to work out which is the best super fund for you.

Yes, it is an Industry Super Fund.

HESTA Super stands for Health Employees Superannuation Trust Australia.

3.6 5 Reviews
How would you rate
2.8 4 Reviews
Service
2.8 4 Reviews
Performance
3 4 Reviews
Fees
3.3 4 Reviews
Insurance
2.8 4 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
9 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Julie Worsley
Julie Worsley
7 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Overall hesta is doing quite well as a super fund but constantly does out perform them .

angela shephard
angela shephard
7 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

every time i ph get the run around,

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

awful

kym
kym
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

difficulty in finding a contact phone number

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

HESTA have failed to act on verbal authorities (they suggested we provide the verbal authority).
HESTA keep saying it’s not their department and can’t help.
HESTA are unable to provide details of their process to be followed (Catch Up payments can’t even be searched for on their website).
When you advise that you want to make a complaint, they terminate calls.
Good returns if you just want to pay your salary and very basic stuff, but totally inept if you care about your super and want to maximise the benefits.

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago

The performance of Hesta superannuation fund has been dropping significantly for some time now and I would suggest if you are looking for a superannuation fund you look elsewhere where, on just $18,000 they have taken approximately $878 of me this financial period. They are full of excuses and its so easy to blame global markets.

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

The performance of Hesta superannuation fund has been dropping significantly for some time now and I would suggest if you are looking for a superannuation fund you look elsewhere where, on just $18,000 they have taken approximately $878 of me this financial period. They are full of excuses and its so easy to blame global markets.

Anonymous
Anonymous
8 days ago
How would you rate :
     

I cannot fault the team I dealt with. They were caring, compassionate and genuinely wanted to help me and I am thankful for that. I would not be with any other super fund.

Anonymous
Anonymous
7 days ago
How would you rate :
     

2021 – 2022 just lost $12000 in 12 months off my $400000 super

HESTA Super
Compare Insurance
9
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
HESTA Super

Are you with HESTA Super?

3.6 5 Reviews
How would you rate
2.8 4 Reviews
Service
2.8 4 Reviews
Performance
3 4 Reviews
Fees
3.3 4 Reviews
Insurance
2.8 4 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
9 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Julie Worsley
Julie Worsley
7 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Overall hesta is doing quite well as a super fund but constantly does out perform them .

angela shephard
angela shephard
7 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

every time i ph get the run around,

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

awful

kym
kym
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

difficulty in finding a contact phone number

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

HESTA have failed to act on verbal authorities (they suggested we provide the verbal authority).
HESTA keep saying it’s not their department and can’t help.
HESTA are unable to provide details of their process to be followed (Catch Up payments can’t even be searched for on their website).
When you advise that you want to make a complaint, they terminate calls.
Good returns if you just want to pay your salary and very basic stuff, but totally inept if you care about your super and want to maximise the benefits.

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago

The performance of Hesta superannuation fund has been dropping significantly for some time now and I would suggest if you are looking for a superannuation fund you look elsewhere where, on just $18,000 they have taken approximately $878 of me this financial period. They are full of excuses and its so easy to blame global markets.

Anonymous
Anonymous
14 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

The performance of Hesta superannuation fund has been dropping significantly for some time now and I would suggest if you are looking for a superannuation fund you look elsewhere where, on just $18,000 they have taken approximately $878 of me this financial period. They are full of excuses and its so easy to blame global markets.

Anonymous
Anonymous
8 days ago
How would you rate :
     

I cannot fault the team I dealt with. They were caring, compassionate and genuinely wanted to help me and I am thankful for that. I would not be with any other super fund.

Anonymous
Anonymous
7 days ago
How would you rate :
     

2021 – 2022 just lost $12000 in 12 months off my $400000 super