Spirit Super Review

Spirit Super Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Sustainable 3.1% 6.27% 6.53%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
Spirit Super - Sustainable VS Median 1.1% -0.33% -0.17%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Sustainable 67.6 1.15% $642.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 26%
2 International Shares 32%
3 Fixed Interest 13%
4 Alternative 11%
5 Property 9%
6 Other 3%
7 Cash 6%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Diversified Fixed Interest -6.07% -1.11% 0.65%
Median - - -
Spirit Super - Diversified Fixed Interest VS Median -6.07% -1.11% 0.65%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Diversified Fixed Interest 67.6 0.43% $282.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Fixed Interest 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - International Shares -2.85% 8.2% 7.22%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Spirit Super - International Shares VS Median -5.05% 0.4% -0.58%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - International Shares 67.6 0.72% $427.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 International Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Moderate 1.61% 4.72% 5.07%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
Spirit Super - Moderate VS Median 0.51% 0.02% 0.07%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Moderate 67.6 0.71% $422.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 15%
2 International Shares 19%
3 Fixed Interest 17%
4 Alternative 12%
5 Property 6%
6 Other 7%
7 Cash 24%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Conservative 1.84% 3.16% 3.87%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
Spirit Super - Conservative VS Median 1.74% 0.26% 0.17%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Conservative 67.6 0.61% $372.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 6%
2 International Shares 9%
3 Fixed Interest 27%
4 Alternative 12%
5 Property 5%
6 Other 6%
7 Cash 35%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Growth 2.56% 7.79% 7.98%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Spirit Super - Growth VS Median 0.36% -0.01% 0.18%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Growth 67.6 0.88% $507.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 32%
2 International Shares 40%
3 Alternative 15%
4 Property 6%
5 Cash 7%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Australian Shares 4.94% 7.9% 8.8%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Spirit Super - Australian Shares VS Median 2.74% 0.1% 1%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Australian Shares 67.6 0.66% $397.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Spirit Super - Balanced (MySuper) 1.9% 6.2% 6.61%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
Spirit Super - Balanced (MySuper) VS Median -0.1% -0.4% -0.09%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Spirit Super - Balanced (MySuper) 67.6 0.79% $462.6

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 24%
2 International Shares 30%
3 Fixed Interest 13%
4 Alternative 15%
5 Property 9%
6 Other 3%
7 Cash 6%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

Spirit Super has received a 66/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Spirit Super Fund Information

ABN: 74 559 365 913

USI: MTA0100AU

Address: GPO Box 1547 Hobart TAS 7001

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About Spirit Super

Formed in 2021 by the merger of MTAA and Tasplan, Spirit Super is an industry super fund with approximately $26 billion funds under management and over 325,000 members Australia-wide (as at 30 June 2021).

Spirit Super Investment Options

Spirit Super has 5 ‘Pre-mixed options’ and 4 ‘Asset class options’
Pre-mixed:
Balanced (Mysuper), Conservative, Moderate, Sustainable and Growth.
Asset Class:
Cash, Diversified fixed interest, Australian shares and International shares.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Sustainable investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Sustainable investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - International Shares investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - International Shares investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Moderate investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Moderate investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Conservative investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Conservative investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Growth investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Growth investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Australian Shares investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Australian Shares investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Spirit Super Performance

Spirit Super's Spirit Super - Balanced (MySuper) investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Spirit Super Performance
See Spirit Super vs Australian Super to see how Spirit Super compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

Spirit Super Fees

Spirit Super's fees for their Spirit Super - Balanced (MySuper) investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Insurance

Spirit Super offers life, TPD and income protection Insurance to their members.
There are two levels of default cover, default A and default B. If you work for an eligible employer, you may be provided with default B cover, which includes default income protection cover. The cover amounts and premiums are age based. You can apply to increase your cover above the default rates, with the following limits:
Death – $5 million.
TPD – $3 million.
Income protection – The lesser of 75% of your monthly income plus up to 10% super contributions or $30,000.
Insurance is provided by MetLife. You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Spirit Super’s Spirit Super – Balanced (MySuper) option has Under performed the median over 5 years.
Fees for this option are slightly below the median out of Balanced/MySuper funds listed on Review My Super.
Based on this evidence, it would be reasonable to declare Spirit Super a good super fund. However, there are many factors which determine whether a super fund is good or bad and it can differ depending on personal requirements. We recommend you speak to a qualified adviser in order to work out which is the best super fund for you.

Yes, it is an industry fund.

3.2 20 Reviews
How would you rate
2.2 11 Reviews
Service
1.9 11 Reviews
Performance
2.6 11 Reviews
Fees
1.7 11 Reviews
Insurance
1.6 11 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
32 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Underperforming compared to the fund that amalgamated with it (MTAA). Not happy with the dismal returns so far. Hopefully it gets it act together soon.

Last edited 4 months ago by Anonymous
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

MTAA super taken over by Spirit Super, watching them destroy my balance every day.

F.wiggins
F.wiggins
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Service is non existent. Response to queries is just quoting standard blah blah. No genuine answer or solution to my problems. The merger from MTAA was very poorly done.
Now they are refusing to transfer my account balance to my new fund…… my money !!!
Absolutely pathetic !

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Have found larger fees overall from my previous MTAA Super fund.

J M Fitz
J M Fitz
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

cash in a flash..

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Awesome

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Great service

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

I’m more than happy with the service and performance of this fund (previously Tasplan).

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Great returns in the long term and very consistent, reliable customer service. Ex Tasplan member pre-merge

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Fantastic super fund! Couldn’t be happier with how they manage my money

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Loving spirit super! Keep up the good work

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Lacks a property option

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Spoke with Jackie today from Spirit Super over the phone

I have to say in all my time dealing with corporate office headquarter individuals that her knowledge and customer service as well as assisting me with all my questions then listening then answering them all was an extremely five star experience

Thankyou so much Jackie from the Spirit Super Customer Support Team in Australia Region

Kind regards

Simon Craig Starmans

L French
L French
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

I concur with another comment regarding its dismal performance since the Merger. And when I ask them to show me the progress of my investments since the transfer, they couldn’t!! They gave me a spreadsheet to work it out myself. Not impressed so far.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago

Terrible returns….. Look elsewhere

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Pretty Good

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

I haven’t been with them long enough to know about them, as they took over the Super Fund I was with. It hasn’t benefited me at all, so I’m on the lookout for something better.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Very good website

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Have been with this for 4y

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Not over impressed hasn’t done much at all over the last couple of years since it changed it’s name from MTAA

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Just checked my account and even though I’ve been making regular contributions I have lost money not made it. In other words it is costing me money to be in this fund!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Tried to open members online app,just crashes.
It’s a joke like spirit super .

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Moved my super away, use to get good returns but my balance is going down faster than the amount im putting in, lost 2k in super. their investment choices are very poor

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

They are loosing my hard earned savings by the day
I’ll be changing

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Have lost me thousands of dollars this year

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Mediocre performance

Anonymous
Anonymous
29 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Performed well last year but it as terrible this year

Anonymous
Anonymous
26 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Full of lies have to be on your death bed to access anything of this unlawful company

Kevin Doherty
Kevin Doherty
18 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Don’t get back to you bad performance for a large company.. seems Spirit Super making money but not for members..Fund not even rated in top 20 ..they blame lots things for bad performance except themselves but allow hackers to get into accounts yet take over 3 yrs to tell us…

Anonymous
Anonymous
16 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Apart from them having an email account being hacked by a phishing scams and leaking numerous individuals account information online (mine among them), their dismal performance since taking over TasPlan super is making me think it is time to look elsewhere. 100% disappointed.

Anonymous
Anonymous
16 days ago

Worst fund ever
Was Mtaa which was ok
But now never again
Will change funds asap

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Terrible performance following the merger. I have requested a transfer to another fund and I assume a lot of people would be doing the same. -4% return FY21 – balanced and growth options

Spirit Super
Compare Insurance
32
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
Spirit Super

Are you with Spirit Super?

3.2 20 Reviews
How would you rate
2.2 11 Reviews
Service
1.9 11 Reviews
Performance
2.6 11 Reviews
Fees
1.7 11 Reviews
Insurance
1.6 11 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
32 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Underperforming compared to the fund that amalgamated with it (MTAA). Not happy with the dismal returns so far. Hopefully it gets it act together soon.

Last edited 4 months ago by Anonymous
Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

MTAA super taken over by Spirit Super, watching them destroy my balance every day.

F.wiggins
F.wiggins
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Service is non existent. Response to queries is just quoting standard blah blah. No genuine answer or solution to my problems. The merger from MTAA was very poorly done.
Now they are refusing to transfer my account balance to my new fund…… my money !!!
Absolutely pathetic !

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Have found larger fees overall from my previous MTAA Super fund.

J M Fitz
J M Fitz
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

cash in a flash..

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Awesome

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Great service

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

I’m more than happy with the service and performance of this fund (previously Tasplan).

Anonymous
Anonymous
6 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Great returns in the long term and very consistent, reliable customer service. Ex Tasplan member pre-merge

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Fantastic super fund! Couldn’t be happier with how they manage my money

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Loving spirit super! Keep up the good work

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Lacks a property option

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Spoke with Jackie today from Spirit Super over the phone

I have to say in all my time dealing with corporate office headquarter individuals that her knowledge and customer service as well as assisting me with all my questions then listening then answering them all was an extremely five star experience

Thankyou so much Jackie from the Spirit Super Customer Support Team in Australia Region

Kind regards

Simon Craig Starmans

L French
L French
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

I concur with another comment regarding its dismal performance since the Merger. And when I ask them to show me the progress of my investments since the transfer, they couldn’t!! They gave me a spreadsheet to work it out myself. Not impressed so far.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago

Terrible returns….. Look elsewhere

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Pretty Good

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     

I haven’t been with them long enough to know about them, as they took over the Super Fund I was with. It hasn’t benefited me at all, so I’m on the lookout for something better.

Anonymous
Anonymous
3 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Very good website

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Have been with this for 4y

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Not over impressed hasn’t done much at all over the last couple of years since it changed it’s name from MTAA

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Just checked my account and even though I’ve been making regular contributions I have lost money not made it. In other words it is costing me money to be in this fund!

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Tried to open members online app,just crashes.
It’s a joke like spirit super .

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Moved my super away, use to get good returns but my balance is going down faster than the amount im putting in, lost 2k in super. their investment choices are very poor

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

They are loosing my hard earned savings by the day
I’ll be changing

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Have lost me thousands of dollars this year

Anonymous
Anonymous
1 month ago
How would you rate :
     

Mediocre performance

Anonymous
Anonymous
29 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Performed well last year but it as terrible this year

Anonymous
Anonymous
26 days ago
How would you rate :
     

Full of lies have to be on your death bed to access anything of this unlawful company

Kevin Doherty
Kevin Doherty
18 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Don’t get back to you bad performance for a large company.. seems Spirit Super making money but not for members..Fund not even rated in top 20 ..they blame lots things for bad performance except themselves but allow hackers to get into accounts yet take over 3 yrs to tell us…

Anonymous
Anonymous
16 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Apart from them having an email account being hacked by a phishing scams and leaking numerous individuals account information online (mine among them), their dismal performance since taking over TasPlan super is making me think it is time to look elsewhere. 100% disappointed.

Anonymous
Anonymous
16 days ago

Worst fund ever
Was Mtaa which was ok
But now never again
Will change funds asap

Anonymous
Anonymous
4 days ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

Terrible performance following the merger. I have requested a transfer to another fund and I assume a lot of people would be doing the same. -4% return FY21 – balanced and growth options