Hostplus Review

Hostplus Logo

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Property 18.91% 8.24% 8.8%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
Hostplus Personal - Property VS Median 18.81% 5.34% 5.1%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Property 108.64 0.88% $548.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Property 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Diversified Fixed Interest -6.6% -1.22% 0.86%
Median - - -
Hostplus Personal - Diversified Fixed Interest VS Median -6.6% -1.22% 0.86%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Diversified Fixed Interest 108.64 0.13% $173.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Fixed Interest 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Australian Shares 6.54% 9.67% 9.74%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Hostplus Personal - Australian Shares VS Median 4.34% 1.87% 1.94%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Australian Shares 108.64 0.84% $528.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 100%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - International Shares -10.17% 8.1% 8.16%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Hostplus Personal - International Shares VS Median -12.37% 0.3% 0.36%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - International Shares 108.64 0.7% $458.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 International Shares 73%
2 Alternative 27%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Balanced 6.78% 8.62% 8.52%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
Hostplus Personal - Balanced VS Median 4.78% 2.02% 1.82%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Balanced 108.64 1.02% $618.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 21%
2 International Shares 21%
3 Fixed Interest 3%
4 Alternative 32%
5 Property 11%
6 Other 7%
7 Cash 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Conservative Balanced 1.64% 5.08% 5.61%
Median 1.1% 4.7% 5%
Hostplus Personal - Conservative Balanced VS Median 0.54% 0.38% 0.61%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Conservative Balanced 108.64 0.7% $458.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 16%
2 International Shares 16%
3 Fixed Interest 15%
4 Alternative 24%
5 Property 9%
6 Other 6%
7 Cash 14%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Socially Responsible Investment - Balanced 9.61% 9.58% 8.3%
Median 2% 6.6% 6.7%
Hostplus Personal - Socially Responsible Investment - Balanced VS Median 7.61% 2.98% 1.6%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Socially Responsible Investment - Balanced 108.64 0.35% $283.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 25%
2 International Shares 30%
3 Fixed Interest 10%
4 Alternative 20%
5 Property 10%
6 Cash 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Shares Plus 2.16% 9.23% 9.09%
Median 2.2% 7.8% 7.8%
Hostplus Personal - Shares Plus VS Median -0.04% 1.43% 1.29%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Shares Plus 108.64 1.03% $623.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 30%
2 International Shares 30%
3 Alternative 28%
4 Property 7%
5 Other 5%

Returns to May 31 2022

Investment Option 1 Year 3 Year 5 Year
Hostplus Personal - Capital Stable 1.34% 2.63% 3.48%
Median 0.1% 2.9% 3.7%
Hostplus Personal - Capital Stable VS Median 1.24% -0.27% -0.22%

Fees

Investment Option Flat Fee Percentage Based Fee Fee Based on 50k
Hostplus Personal - Capital Stable 108.64 0.57% $393.64

Asset Allocation

RankAsset%
1 Australian Shares 8%
2 International Shares 8%
3 Fixed Interest 24%
4 Alternative 20%
5 Property 9%
6 Other 8%
7 Cash 23%

Insurance Rating

0 /100
OmniLife

Hostplus has received a 67/100 insurance rating by Omnilife. To compare insurers that can be funded through super please click below.

Hostplus Fund Information

ABN: 68 657 495 890

USI: HOS0100AU

Address: Locked Bag 5046, Parramatta NSW 2124

 

Hostplus Reviews

Speak To An Advisor

Review My Super can review every Super Fund in Australia and can help you understand what YOUR money is doing for YOU

* all fields required
How can we help? *

About

Founded in 1988 by the Australian Hotels Association and the United Workers Union, Hostplus now has over 1.3 million members and $68 billion in funds under management (as at 30 June 2021). 

Hostplus Investment Options

Hostplus Super offers 7 ‘Pre-mixed’ investment options, 8 ‘Sector’ investment options as well as various individual manager options. Through the ‘Choiceplus’ Investment option they also allow direct investment in shares on the ASX 300 index, selected Exchange Traded Funds (ETF’s), Listed Investment Companies (LIC’s) and term deposits.
Pre-mixed:
Capital Stable, Conservative Balanced, Socially Responsible Investment – balanced, Index Balanced, Balanced (default), Shares Plus, and Hostplus Life.
Sector:
Cash, Diversified Fixed Interest, Property, Infrastructure, Australian Shares, International shares, International Shares indexed, International shares (hedged) indexed.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Property investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Property investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option under performed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Diversified Fixed Interest investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Australian Shares investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Australian Shares investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - International Shares investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - International Shares investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Balanced investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Balanced investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Conservative Balanced investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Conservative Balanced investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Socially Responsible Investment - Balanced investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Socially Responsible Investment - Balanced investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Shares Plus investment option under performed the median over 1 year, outperformed over 3 years and outperformed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Shares Plus investment option below the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

HOSTPLUS Performance

Hostplus's Hostplus Personal - Capital Stable investment option outperformed the median over 1 year, under performed over 3 years and under performed over 5 years. Check out our more in depth analysis of Hostplus Performance
See Hostplus vs Australian Super to see how Hostplus compares with one of Australia's biggest super funds.

HOSTPLUS Fees

Hostplus's fees for their Hostplus Personal - Capital Stable investment option above the median compared to other funds’ MySuper/Balanced options listed on Review My Super.

Hostplus Performance

The Hostplus options listed on Review My Super have outperformed the median over 1, 3 and 5 years. Hostplus Balanced (default) has been the top performer over 1 and 5 years out of options with a balanced risk profile listed on Review My Super.

Hostplus Fees

Hostplus fees are above the median of funds of a similar risk profile listed on Review My Super.
There is no industry benchmark for fees to compare against.

Insurance

Hostplus offer Death, TPD and Income protection.
A certain amount of death and TPD is provided as default, depending on your age.
Default cover is unitised, where you pay a set price for each unit of cover you hold. The benefit value of each unit changes as you get older. However, you can also apply for fixed cover, where the cover is fixed and the premium changes as you get older. There is a limit of $5 million for TPD cover and no limit on death cover.
Income protection must be applied for.
Insurance is provided by MetLife Insurance Limited.
You can compare the wider market and have the premiums paid via your super. Compare insurers here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Hostplus’s Hostplus Personal – Balanced option has Out performed the median over 5 years.
Fees for this option are slightly above the median out of Balanced/MySuper funds listed on Review My Super.
Based on this evidence, it would be unreasonable to declare Hostplus a good super fund. However, there are many factors which determine whether a super fund is good or bad and it can differ depending on personal requirements. We recommend you speak to a qualified adviser in order to work out which is the best super fund for you.

Yes, it is an industry fund.

 
2 3 Reviews
How would you rate
1 2 Reviews
Service
2.5 2 Reviews
Performance
2.5 2 Reviews
Fees
1.5 2 Reviews
Insurance
1.5 2 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
6 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

They don’t reply to emails in a timely manner, but when they finally do it after weeks, it looks like they didn’t even bother to check previous emails I sent them to give me answers to my questions, which is extremely frustrating. Then I have to answer by explaining everything all over again, a second or third time, only to get another email with another contradictory information after a week, and this has been going on and on for over three months. I called customer support and contacted them via live chat, but they both gave me completely different answers, which frustrated me even more. After reading so many negative opinions and various scenarios of events of people who also cannot get their money, I have a strong feeling that they are deliberately prolonging this process because they simply do not want to pay anyone money. I wrote a complaint to their Resolutions department 24 days ago and I didn’t even get a confirmation email that they had received my complaint and are working on it, or anything on their part. It is almost unbelievable to me how you can ignore your clients in this way. My frustration with customer service is beyond anything I could have imagined.

Alan Christensen
Alan Christensen
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

If you can go somewhere else do so. Do not waste your hard earned money with this lot.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

There website is so out of date. I have been trying to look up progress on the account and it is still showing figures as at the 30th November more than 6 week out of date

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 days ago
How would you rate :
     

It is a terrible experience for me and I wish Statewide have not merged with Hostplus.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Satisfied

Paul Shipley
Paul Shipley
13 hours ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

About as bad as it gets.
As an employer I’ve recommended Hostplus to over a hundred people over the years.
I don’t know what has happened to it, but it’s terrible now.
I am transitioning to a Pension and after speaking to 9 people, 14 phone calls, and 5 months I finally got the necessary forms.
I’d transferred a large sum into my super, it’s tax free provided you transition to a pension in the same financial year. I did this in February and have been trying to speak to the pension department ever since. A new financial year is upon us, so I can kiss the additional $9,000 I was expecting to get goodbye.
Thank you Hostplus, I’m less than impressed.
I may buy another business, you can be assured I won’t be recommending Hostplus to anybody ever again.

HOSTPLUS
Compare Insurance
6
0
Would love your thoughts, please review.x
Share the joy
HOSTPLUS

Are you with HOSTPLUS?

2 3 Reviews
How would you rate
1 2 Reviews
Service
2.5 2 Reviews
Performance
2.5 2 Reviews
Fees
1.5 2 Reviews
Insurance
1.5 2 Reviews
Transparency
guest
How would you rate
Service
Performance
Fees
Insurance
Transparency
6 Reviews
Most Votes
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all review
Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

They don’t reply to emails in a timely manner, but when they finally do it after weeks, it looks like they didn’t even bother to check previous emails I sent them to give me answers to my questions, which is extremely frustrating. Then I have to answer by explaining everything all over again, a second or third time, only to get another email with another contradictory information after a week, and this has been going on and on for over three months. I called customer support and contacted them via live chat, but they both gave me completely different answers, which frustrated me even more. After reading so many negative opinions and various scenarios of events of people who also cannot get their money, I have a strong feeling that they are deliberately prolonging this process because they simply do not want to pay anyone money. I wrote a complaint to their Resolutions department 24 days ago and I didn’t even get a confirmation email that they had received my complaint and are working on it, or anything on their part. It is almost unbelievable to me how you can ignore your clients in this way. My frustration with customer service is beyond anything I could have imagined.

Alan Christensen
Alan Christensen
8 months ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

If you can go somewhere else do so. Do not waste your hard earned money with this lot.

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 months ago

There website is so out of date. I have been trying to look up progress on the account and it is still showing figures as at the 30th November more than 6 week out of date

Anonymous
Anonymous
11 days ago
How would you rate :
     

It is a terrible experience for me and I wish Statewide have not merged with Hostplus.

Anonymous
Anonymous
2 months ago
How would you rate :
     

Satisfied

Paul Shipley
Paul Shipley
13 hours ago
How would you rate :
     
Service :
     
Performance :
     
Fees :
     
Insurance :
     
Transparency :
     

About as bad as it gets.
As an employer I’ve recommended Hostplus to over a hundred people over the years.
I don’t know what has happened to it, but it’s terrible now.
I am transitioning to a Pension and after speaking to 9 people, 14 phone calls, and 5 months I finally got the necessary forms.
I’d transferred a large sum into my super, it’s tax free provided you transition to a pension in the same financial year. I did this in February and have been trying to speak to the pension department ever since. A new financial year is upon us, so I can kiss the additional $9,000 I was expecting to get goodbye.
Thank you Hostplus, I’m less than impressed.
I may buy another business, you can be assured I won’t be recommending Hostplus to anybody ever again.